Site Search   TV Channel 1  Add this Player to my Google page. Add this Player to your MySpace page or personal website.
 Videos   Songs   Blogs   Forums   Podcast 
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Depeche Mode vs. Iris??? What????

Agree? Yes No

Post Depeche Mode vs. Iris??? What????

I'm fairly new to EG and I'm a big fan of DM. but, then I hear of IRIS. I see that everyone compares IRIS to DM. Well, DM is not DM unless all 4 members are together. Dave, Martin, Fletch (yes, even him), and ALAN.

To me, the best album DM had (since Alan's departure) is ULTRA. Exciter was horrible!!!

I know David & martin have solo Albums. They are ok. David is not a great writer, but I like his approach. Martin... well....he is not a great writer, but his contributions to DM are a major reason for DM's success. ALAN? Well, DM is not the same. I honestly believe ALAN carried the band "Musically". Every band needs an ALAN WILDER.

FLETCH????? What did he do again??? I really don't know what the heck he did in the studio. In concerts ...Well he just waives his hands, moving left to right.. Once in a while played a note.

Now fans are talking about IRIS. The next DM (or even better?).
    I don't know about better, but they are the best band around NOW. Iris music reminds me a lot of that of DM's of the late 80's early 90's. Is IRIS here to replace DM or to satisfy the hunger that was left by DM's music?

I just went and got IRIS "Disconnect". I have to admit is damn good. I don't know if IRIS is better than DM, but I do admit they are good. IRIS has their own catchy sound. It will grab you and little by little will get to you and make you a fan.

IRIS is not a substitute for DM. DM will always be DM and IRIS will always be IRIS.

IRIS is still growing and hopefully it won't have the same faith as other bands that started strong and then went no where.