Site Search   TV Channel 1  Add this Player to my Google page. Add this Player to your MySpace page or personal website.
 Videos   Songs   Blogs   Forums   Podcast 

Thread: how do YOU listen to a new music?

Agree? Yes No

Default how do YOU listen to a new music?

When I was a teenager, I used to have this ritual whenever I got a new record or tape. I'd lay down on the floor in front of the stereo, plug in with a nice set of headphones, and just lose myself to the music, straight through from the first track to the last. And I'd listen to it over and over, even if it sucked, just to be sure it actually sucked or if it would grow on me. Sometimes, I'd just examine the cover art, seeing if it fits the music (which probably explains why I'm a graphic designer, years later) or (over)analyze the lyrics. But for the most part, I'd just space out, really giving my full attention to the music.

Now that I'm older and busier, I don't seem to do that as much. But once in a while, I just HAVE to listen to a new album undisturbed, even if it's just for a little bit. My husband is amused by my "shhhh, not right now, honey, I'm gonna listen to this for a little bit, okay?"

Anybody got a weird new music listening ritual they'd like to share?

Agree? Yes No

It used to be:

Rip the celephane from the vinyl (I'm old), put the record on the turntable, read all credits and "thanks to" listed in the credits and just enjoy the music.

Now, it's:

Open the disc, pop it in my portable disc player and do whatever work is needed to be done...

Agree? Yes No

I had an odd (and unhealthy) ritual. Back when I was deejaying, I would buy new music and blank cassettes every Thursday when I got paid. I'd spend nearly half of my paycheck on music. Then, I would head to the store, pick up some Zima, get drunk, and make mixed cassette tapes for all of my friends.