Site Search   TV Channel 1  Add this Player to my Google page. Add this Player to your MySpace page or personal website.
 Videos   Songs   Blogs   Forums   Podcast 
ELECTROGARDEN.COM | CHAT | Who: []

Thread: Where did your production knowledge come from?

Agree? Yes No

Default Where did your production knowledge come from?

That愀 a question i悲 like to know. How many of you studied music production? That means who introduced you to the secrets how to make music?... what is MIDI, how to use it, how to operate Sampler, Sequencer, Cubase, Pro-Tools etc.?

Are you self tought? or did any friends teach you how to use, connect your equipment??

Thanks for the answer, i am new to music production - profi
    I just used simple products like Fruity Loops, Music 2000 etc.
    I got lately Reason 2 but i don愒 know what the 中中 i can make with it, i don愒 even know how to generate new sounds etc :-) to get something from it and i hate manuals :-)

Agree? Yes No

Ok, good question.

First off, a friend of mine who was into music allowed me to borrow his Yamaha DX-100 once, in 1988. I learned how to program it and went on to create nearly 30 banks of sounds for it, including the trademark Synthetik FM kick drum sound you hear in alot of my newer material. I eventually bought a Korg Poly-800 II for about $200 and thereby entered the world of analog synthesis.

I started out on an Alesis MMT-8 sequencer, and eventually moved on to an Atari ST running Steinberg-12 MIDI software. I am very computer literate so I taught myself pretty much all I needed to know about it.

As far as mixing and getting levels right, I am still very much a novice at it, but having the ears of people in this scene (ESPECIALLY people like Brian Hazard, David Friede, and Aidan from ESH) really helps alot. These people are true professionals, and can pick out problems in my mixes that I didn't even know were there.

Agree? Yes No

A friend of mine let me borrow an old Prophet1 analogue.